How Long Does a Car Accident Stay on Your Record?
A person’s driving record has a direct impact on the amount of premiums they pay for car insurance. If you have an accident on your record, then you can expect your premiums to increase dramatically. According to The Simple Dollar website, the average premium in California increases around 73% after a bodily injury accident. If you were not to blame for the accident, then your premiums should not increase at all.
Getting into an accident also adds points to your record. If you receive too many points, your license can ultimately be suspended. As experienced Los Angeles car accident attorneys, we have seen people suffer license suspensions and other punishments.
But how long does an accident stay on your record? Fortunately, an accident should fall off eventually, but the amount of time you need to wait will depend on the seriousness of the collision.
The more serious the offense, the longer it will stay on your record. According to the State of California Department of Motor Vehicles, a hit and run or conviction for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) will stay on your record for a staggering 13 years. This is a very long time to have an accident stay on your record. Of course, if you are convicted of these offenses, increased insurance premiums are the least of your worries, as you are likely to get probation or jail time.
LESS SERIOUS OFFENSES
Most motorists do not get points for getting into a drunken crash. Instead, they get stopped for relatively minor traffic offenses, such as speeding, failing to stop, and making an illegal turn. These errors can sometimes lead to a car accident.
According to the state, minor offenses will stay on your record for 39 months (3 years and 3 months). That is a much shorter time period, though they will cost you plenty in increased premiums.
LOSING YOUR LICENSE
You might be worried that your poor driving record could lead to a license suspension. This is always a possibility.
If you are involved in a hit and run, you can be assessed 2 points under the California code. A driver will receive a warning letter for 2 points incurred in a 12-month period and will receive a notice of intent to suspend after incurring 3 points in a 12-month period. A license can be suspended after 4 points in a 12-month period.
If you are a young driver on a provisional license, then causing an accident is a bigger problem. After your first accident (for which you are at fault), the DMV will send you a warning letter. If you get into a second at-fault accident in a 12-month period, then you cannot drive for 30 days unless an adult accompanies you. With a third at-fault accident in a 12-month period, your license is suspended for 6 months and you are on probation for a year.
SPEAK WITH A LOS ANGELES CAR ACCIDENT LAWYER NOW
Maintaining a clean driving record is enormously beneficial. If you have been injured in a crash and someone else was at fault, you might have a claim to compensation. Contact one of the lawyers at El Dabe Ritter Trial Lawyers for more information. Our firm offers a free consultation.
AREAS OF PRACTICECAR ACCIDENTS> BICYCLE ACCIDENTS> MOTORCYCLE ACCIDENTS> BUS ACCIDENTS> IMPAIRED DRIVING ACCIDENTS> PEDESTRIAN ACCIDENTS> SLIP & FALL ACCIDENTS> CATASTROPHIC INJURY> MEDIATION> MORE>
Top Reviewed Lawyer in Los Angeles by Results and Service
I recommend this law firm to anyone that needs legal advice. They were professional, courteous, and knowledgeable when I contacted them to handle my car accident. I wish I had used them for my previous case, but at least I now know who to contact to handle future cases.
Aldo A. Los Angeles, CA
REQUEST A FREE CONSULTATION
Fill out the form below to schedule a free consultation and we will respond to you within 24 hours