If you are injured in a car accident due to another party’s negligence, you are legally entitled to compensation for your losses. You can receive reimbursement for your medical expenses, property repair, rehabilitation, lost income, and pain and suffering. However, you must file a personal injury claim or lawsuit against the at-fault party to qualify for these benefits.
As in every state, there is a time limit to filing a car accident claim in California. This length of time is referred to as a statute of limitations. Should it pass, you could lose your eligibility to receive damages.
If you have been injured in a car accident, talk to an experienced Los Angeles Car Accident Attorney at El Dabe Ritter Trial Lawyers.
On a Car Accident Case Involving Injury
If you get injured in a car crash, you will require medical attention. This could include:
- Ambulance costs
- Lab tests
- Hospital stays
- At-home care
- And more
You can seek compensation for these and more expenses by filing a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault party. In California, you have to do this 2 years from the date of the accident.
On a Car Accident Case Involving Property Damage
Sometimes, car accident victims walk away from the crash unharmed. Their vehicles, however, could be damaged. When this happens, you can file a claim against the at-fault party to recover reimbursement for property damage. The amount you get could be used for repairs or replacement.
The statute of limitations for property damage claims in California is 3 years. This means you have 3 years from the date of the accident to file the claim.
On a Wrongful Death Case
When a car accident results in death, the surviving family members of the deceased can file a wrongful death claim. The benefits available in this case cover burial costs, funeral expenses, medical costs before death, pain, and suffering, and loss of companionship.
The statute of limitations for a wrongful death claim is 2 years. However, this time is counted from the date of death, not the accident, unless the victim died on the same day as the crash.
On a Case Involving a Government Entity
If a bus driver, who is a government employee, causes a car accident, their employer is liable for damages. This means that you will be bringing a claim against a government entity. In California, such cases have a 6-month statute of limitations.
As this time is significantly shorter, you should speak to a Los Angeles Car Accident Attorney with El Dabe Ritter Trial Lawyers immediately after an accident involving a government entity.
Consult a Los Angeles Car Accident Attorney
The statute of limitations on car accidents in the state places a time limit on the amount of time you have to file a lawsuit. While your recovery is important after an accident, you should also handle your personal injury claim on time. Don’t worry about it interrupting your treatment. You can focus on getting better as your attorney handles your case.
If you have been injured in a car accident through no fault of your own, don’t let too much time pass before taking action. Contact the law offices of El Dabe Ritter Trial Lawyers to discuss your personal injury claim with an expert Los Angeles Car Accident Attorney.