While California law does not require those who are injured in slip and fall accidents to seek medical attention before a certain deadline, most slip and fall victims are strongly encouraged to see a doctor no later than 72 hours after the accident occurred, as well as seek help from a Los Angeles slip and fall accident attorney.
There are several reasons to seek medical attention right away after a fall, the most important of which is the person’s health, as failing to undergo an examination soon after an accident can lead to a worsening of symptoms that can make obtaining treatment much more difficult.
There are also legal repercussions for waiting to seek medical care after a slip and fall accident, so if you or a loved one were injured in a slip and fall accident, it is critical to speak with a Los Angeles slip and fall accident attorney who has the resources and the experience to handle your case.
One of the most important reasons for filing a claim soon after being involved in a slip and fall accident is the plaintiff’s health, as it is not uncommon for slip and fall victims to suffer injuries that do not manifest immediately. Head injuries, like concussions, for example, are notorious for causing injured parties to suffer from delayed symptoms, such as:
- Fatigue or drowsiness
Fortunately, a doctor can quickly diagnose mild head injuries through physical examination and scans, even when an injured party has not yet begun experiencing symptoms. Failing to visit a doctor after an accident in which a person struck his or her head, on the other hand, can lead to the worsening of these symptoms, which in turn can increase medical costs and the type and length of treatment.
Statute of Limitations
Accident victims can only recover damages compensating them for their economic losses and pain and suffering if they file their claim before the statute of limitations passes. In California, plaintiffs have 2 years from the date of their injuries to file a claim against the person or entity who caused the accident, unless the injury was not discovered right away, in which case, a plaintiff must file suit within one year of the date that the injury was discovered.
Although plaintiffs technically have a couple of years to file a claim based on their accident, it’s usually a good idea to file suit as soon as possible after an accident. Plaintiffs who fail to file their claims until the last minute could end up with degraded evidence, or eyewitnesses who don’t clearly remember the facts of the accident in question.
It is also not uncommon for insurers and defendants to argue that an injury is not as serious as a plaintiff claims if there is evidence that the injured party delayed seeking medical care. In fact, the longer a person waits to see a doctor after an accident, the easier it is for a defendant to argue that the fall in question was not actually the cause of the plaintiff’s injuries or that the injuries are not as serious as is being claimed.
Contact Our Los Angeles Slip and Fall Legal Team
Filing a claim soon after discovering an injury is one of the best ways to improve your chances of success when filing a slip and fall claim, so if you were injured on someone else’s property, please contact the experienced Los Angeles personal injury lawyers at El Dabe Ritter Trial Lawyers.