The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) describes aggressive driving as operating a vehicle in a way that jeopardizes or is likely to endanger people or property. In the states with aggressive driving laws, the act is at times viewed as a genuine criminal offense instead of a minor traffic infraction.
If you’ve been involved in an aggressive driving incident, you should get in touch with Los Angeles Car Accident Attorneys at El Dabe Ritter Trial Lawyers.
Common Examples of Aggressive Driving
Aggressive driving can lead to tragic car accidents. According to the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, 56% of fatal auto accidents involve some form of aggressive driving. Examples of aggressive driving include:
- Failing to adhere to traffic signals such as stop signs and yield signs
- Driving illegally on a sidewalk
- Failing to signal other drivers of turns or changing lanes
- Changing lanes erratically and unsafely
- Running red lights
- Ignoring other motorists
- Failing to yield right of way to other road users
- Driving recklessly
- Taking one’s frustrations out on other drivers
California’s Law on Aggressive Driving
Under California statutes, aggressive driving is considered a criminal offense and is treated as an auto crime. That implies an aggressive driving charge may prompt criminal penalties and conceivably stay permanently a person’s criminal record. While deciding if an individual was driving aggressively or not, California courts consider a number of variables, such as:
- The speed that the driver was going at
- Whether the actions of the driver put other drivers in danger
- Perilous moves, like, swerving or following other vehicles closely
Generally, California law characterizes reckless driving as willfully disregarding the safety of other people or property. Therefore, a court needs to determine whether the culpable driver purposely decided to ignore driving safety measures.
Penalties for Aggressive Driving in California
Aggressive driving is first viewed as a misdemeanor crime in the state of California. As indicated by California vehicle codes, getting a conviction for aggressive driving can come with several penalties, including:
- Serving a maximum of 90 days in jail
- A fine going up to $1,000
- Potential increments in auto insurance rates, contingent upon the level of the conviction
- Additional consequences, for example, loss of driving benefits and having one’s car impounded
Likewise, repeat aggressive driving crimes will also bring about progressively serious penalties with every offense. Furthermore, California driving statutes also incorporate an extreme aggressive driving charge, which is for serious automobile crimes.
For instance, California at times classifies motor vehicles as lethal weapons. Hence, a driver might face an assault with a deadly weapon conviction if they use their car to deliberately harm others. Assault with a lethal weapon might be viewed as a felony and might bring about more severe penalties, such as:
- Fines not surpassing $10,000
- Detainment in jail for as long as 4 years
Contact El Dabe Ritter Trial Lawyers
An aggressive driving charge in California can prompt severe legal repercussions. If you are dealing with an aggressive driving charge, you reserve the right to a criminal lawyer. Your attorney will guide you at each significant stage of the procedure. An accomplished California lawyer might be able to assist you with getting a decreased sentence, or they can fight for less severe charges.
Speak to Los Angeles Car Accident Attorneys at El Dabe Ritter Trial Lawyers today at 888-542-6021 to schedule a free consultation and receive the compensation you deserve.